OSSTF D22 Beyond Teaching Awards

 The recipients of the 2017 Beyond Teaching Awards are:

  • Vic Barker, Port Colborne High School
  • Dave Collie, Beamsville District Secondary School
  • Carol Farrar, Eastdale Secondary School
  • John Ruscitti, EL Crossley Secondary School


2018 Awards

For the last four years we have celebrated the outstanding accomplishments and dedication of our District 22 members. T
his year's theme for the D22 OSSTF Beyond Teaching Awards is "PASSION"                          

Image result for passion picsBeing passionate about teaching and learning can help to inspire our colleagues and our students to be enthusiastic. It can inspire others to be innovative in their approach, to persevere and find new levels of achievement.

 Do you have a colleague who demonstrates great passion for their subject area, sport, acitivity, or other program that benefits students? Have they started initiatives in their schools that reflect this? Have they encouraged a shift in perspective that will drive change in the future? If so, nominate them for the Beyohd Teaching Awards! Winners each receive $250 toward their project!

 Poster and Nomination Form will be sent out soon to all members.

Deadline: March 29, 2018


Canadian Federation of University Women

CFUW provides twelve $400 scholarships to graduating high school students from 14 area secondary schools including Governor Simcoe, Laura Secord, Sir Winston Churchioll, Thorold, St. Catharines Collegiate, South Lincoln, Beamsville District and Eden HighThe single largest allocation from their Charitable Fund goes to provide assistance to local young women wishing to study at college or university, and to our local post-secondary education partners, Brock University and Niagara College.

For more information click on:


OSSTF D22 Peter Kormos Memorial Scholarship

The OSSTF District 22 Peter Kormos Memorial Scholarship is a $1000 scholarship awarded yearly to a DSBN student who is pursuing post-secondary education in the year following their graduation, who has contributed to further social justice through activism.

Click Peter Kormos Memorial Scholarship forthe  application form. 
Deadline: May 14, 2017


Zonta Club Scholarship

The goal of the YWPA award is to encourage women students to enter careers in public affairs, public policy, and community organizations. The award recognizes the commitment of pre-university women students, aged 16 to 19 years, to serve their communities and to advance the status of women worldwide.

This award is granted annually by the Zonta Club of St. Catharines; students attending Beamsville District SS, Eden HS, Governor Simcoe SS, Grimsby SS, Laura Secord SS, Sir Winston Churchill SS, South Lincoln HS, St. Cath. Collegiate, and Thorold SS are welcome to apply.

The local club award winner then becomes a candidate for the District award, submitting the application to the District Governor by April 15th. In District 4, the District winner receives $1,000 U.S. and the opportunity to compete for one of five Zonta International awards of $3,000 U.S. Since 2000, we have had two district winners; the 2006 winner, Lyndsay Crump, went on to receive the International award.

Click on Zonta Club Scholarships for more information.
Deadline: July 1st 


FWIO Scholarships

Since 1947, the Federated Women's Institutes of Ontario Scholarships have been presented in recognition of the women who pioneered the Women's Institute in Ontario.

For more information click on FWIO Scholarships.
Deadline: June 30th 


Workers' Health & Safety Scholarships


All connected with the Workers Health & Safety Centre are committed to education - education in the workplace and beyond. To this end the WHSC has long offered student scholarships for post secondary education. Funds for these scholarships are raised from the annual Cliff Pilkey/WHSC Invitational Golf Tournament in honour of our late founder and first WHSC President.

Thanks to the tournament's success and ongoing support of member organizations and community partners, the WHSC was able to expand its scholarship program to include the following:

  • Student scholarships for full-time or part-time, post secondary students;
  • Student bursaries for students in post secondary, labour studies programs.

For more information click on WHSC Scholarships.
Deadline: June 10th 



Johnson's Inc. Scholarship

With origins dating back to 1880, Johnson Inc. is one of Canada's leading insurance and benefit providers. Through more than 60 locations, Johnson Inc. offers insurance and benefit solutions to individual policyholders and to over 3,000,000 members and employees of client associations/organizations from St. John's, NL to Vancouver, BC.

All Canadian residents completing high school and who are beginning post-secondary education are eligible to apply for a Johnson Scholarship. Annually, Johnson will award 100 scholarships each valued at $1,500 to students attending a post-secondary educational institution in Canada.

For more information and on-line application click on
Deadline: August 31st